User FAQ's Expert FAQ's Expert Login Contact Us

You Are Here Home > Education > Biology > Biology and Anatomy of the Human Body > Expert Answer

Question What are the types of white blood cells? (Posted by: Anonymous )

Cheryl Answered by: Cheryl, an
expert in the Biology and Anatomy of the Human Body category
Like My Writing Below?

Click Here to hire me
to write for you!


There are five different types of white blood cells, also called leukocytes, found in the human bodies. White blood cells all help to defend the body from foreign particles in some way. All white blood cells are produced in red bone marrow, with the special type lymphocytes also being formed in lymphatic tissue. White blood cells are not found in the blood in great numbers, instead they leave the blood and defend in the rest of the tissues of the body.

White blood cells are put into two different groups based on appearance in the microscope, agranulocytes and granulocytes. Agranulocytes don't have any type of visual grains in their cells, and are the monocytes and lymphocytes. Granulocytes have visual grains in their cells that help with their specific functions, and are the neutrophils, eosinophils and basophils. Together all these types of white blood cells coordinate a system that defends the body from infection, damage and even cancer.

Neutrophils are the most numerous of the white blood cells. They are often called bacterial slayers because they're usually function is killing foreign bacteria in the body. Neutrophils are the first white blood cell at a cut or when damage is done to the body. They kill bacterial by a process called phagocytosis, where they surround and consume the bacteria. Neutrophils will also release a super oxide burst to kill many bacteria at once.

Eosinophils are usually involved in infections of parasitic worms. Instead of doing phagocytosis, Eosinopils release toxins to kill the parasites They are also involved in allergic reactions.

Basophils in other animals are also called mast cells, which are commonly found in the connective tissues throughout the body. The granules seen in basophils contain histamine and heparin. Basophils are the white blood cell that help with the inflammatory response when tissue is damaged. Histamine dilates blood vessels to bring resources into a site of a damage. Histamine can also be involved in allergies. Heparin is an anti-coagulate and stops the blood from clotting, by not clotting the blood heparin helps to bring in more resources to a damaged area.

Monocytes are the largest white blood cell. When they leave the blood they're called macrophages. Most organs in the body have some type of macrophage that can often go by other names. Macrophages do phagocytosis of foreign particles in the body, such as bacteria. Macrophage also do phagocytosis of dead neutrophils and dead body cells. They are involved with cleaning up at the end of an inflammatory response. Macrophages work with lymphocytes as antigen presenting cells.

Lymphocytes are a special type of white blood cell that are capable of cell division in lymphatic organs and tissues, such as the tonsils, lymph nodes and spleen, in response to specific infections in the body. They are the last step in the immune system and allow to long term resistance to infections the body has seen before. Lymphocytes come in two main types. B lymphocytes differentiate in the bone marrow and produce antibodies and do antibody-mediated resistance. T lymphocytes differentiate in the thymus and perform cell-mediate resistance.

Please Rate This Answer! Avg. Count
  1 2 3 4 5   3.00 1145
Poor Excellent

You said Basophils are in OTHER animals, so does that mean humans contain these cells to? By Anonymous on 14-05-12 at 02:38pm
Great explanation. I was looking for a simple description of the functions of the five types of WBC's. By Anonymous on 24-07-12 at 08:15pm
What about t cells b cells and anti bodies. What are those? By Anonymous on 26-01-13 at 03:27pm
I have a question my husband who is 60 has been feeling tired an no energy for sometime now, he was having some pain in his back an shoulder, under his arm pit an chest so we took him to the ER they run all kinds of test on him CT scan, ultra sound, stress test, lots of blood work. They said his white blood count was way to high so they brought in a blood specialist. They didn't find any damage to his heart or anything wrong with it so they were focused on this high blood count he was in the hospital
days an all kinds of test. The day he was going home they had done a test on his stool that morning an found parasites an said that was the reason for the high blood count. My question is why is he still feeling bad an having no energy an pale looking an just don't seem to be doing any better he has been on the antibiotic for 31/
days an he doesn't seem to be doing any better. I'm worried about him. That had scheduled him for a n Bone marrow byopsey tell they found the Parisites. Just wondering if there is more to this than that. By Anonymous on 03-02-13 at 04:54pm
This is just what I needed for my research By Anonymous on 28-02-13 at 04:08pm
I have a degree in biology and work in the health professions. The descriptions of the various types of white blood cells above is more accessible and just makes more sense than any other description I've read online or in a textbook! To the author, well done. By Anonymous on 22-09-13 at 12:48pm
Are Basophils in everything that is living on Earth? By Anonymous on 20-11-13 at 03:14pm
I'm currently changing career to the health service, and I find the explanation above incredibly clear - much better than the textbooks I've been using. Given, I used to be a lawyer, I'm used to reading dry material but jeez, some of the books that exist really are boring! Good work author! By Alex on 18-12-13 at 01:52pm
T cells are T lymphocytes, B cells are B lymphocytes. Antibodies are produced by B cells lymphocytes By Anonymous on 14-01-14 at 05:50am
List a data table containing the different types of WBCs with their percentages and functions. By Anonymous on 14-03-14 at 11:52am
It is simply amazing.I wonder why I went through it after studying my Inflammation Chapter.It would have been so easy with such clear concepts I have got now! Thanks a lot By Arhum on 07-09-14 at 06:34pm
Easy explanation! Great clarification after reading
very confusing textbooks. By Anonymous on 19-09-14 at 03:52pm
4/5 only thing i would like to add is maybe the differences in granules inside the granulocytes By ChemMedKid on 22-10-14 at 02:19pm
Help Make This Answer Better - Post a Comment or Follow-Up Question!

First Name(Optional) OR
Email Address
Are you a human?

Similar Questions & Answers for: What are the types of white blood cells?

Ask a Question About Biology and Anatomy of the Human Body